top of page


After the Fall, is the incredible true story of the FBI’s groundbreaking investigation into the 9/11 terrorist attacks. The series also marks the 20th anniversary of the deadliest crime in modern US history.


Most Americans say 9/11 is the most significant historical event of their lives. It shocked a suddenly vulnerable nation, killed 3,000 people, and led to the longest war in US history. But for the FBI, 9/11 was also a crime.

Dozens of agents at the forefront of the case tell in their own words how they uncovered evidence to prove who was behind the attacks, reconstruct the "planes operation," interrogate terrorism suspects, prevent more attacks, and wrestle with the question of whether 9/11 itself could have been stopped.

9/11 nearly broke the FBI in two. But the investigation into 9/11 transformed the bureau into an agency that prioritized counterterrorism. It influenced the War in Afghanistan, led to a rift with the CIA about using torture to gather intelligence, and generated thousands of boxes of evidence for prosecutions in US courts—most of which have never occurred.

In this riveting series, agents tell their story from the perspective of being in the field, in the moment, as they work in extraordinary circumstances, against unparalleled problems, and face the highest stakes. From the crime scenes in lower Manhattan, the Pentagon, and in Shanksville, the investigation unfolds in unexpected places: a mechanics’ garage, Fresh Kills landfill, a prison in Sanaa, Yemen, a ticket booth in Kandahar, Afghanistan, a safe house in Faisalabad, Pakistan, and Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. The FBI’s investigation into 9/11 is an essential part of the history of the September 11th terrorist attacks.--After the Fall is dedicated to the many victims of the 9/11 attacks, including those who suffered from cancer and other illnesses because of their work at Ground Zero, the Pentagon, and in Shanksville.

©2021 Audible Originals, LLC (P)2021 Audible Originals, LLC

After The Fall Trailer
00:00 / 02:04

Listen to the full series on Audible!

bottom of page